Unaccustomed as we are to.......

Going for a walk. It is not something we have done for a long time. 
Before Christmas I managed to, briefly, get down to 12st 1lb and now I'm  stuck at 12st 10lb. It annoys me but I know it's all about will-power and keeping the lid on the biscuit barrel, and the scones!
Jonty and I have decided to resume our walks, at least 30 minutes a day but longer if we feel like it. Although I must admit I'm a bit keener than Jonty about going for a walk! I let him off the lead when we got to the park and, after having a brief chat with another Bichon, he headed for home. I got him to stop and put the lead back on and we continued our walk.

Had a little episode with a young sparrow this morning, it was a bit urgent so I didn't think to take a photograph.
We were sitting in the dining room with Eric and there was a 'THUMP' of something hitting one of the glass panes in the extension. I looked out through the glass and there was a small sparrow lying on the patio. It was moving, as though it was breathing, but otherwise was flat out.
Marlane sat down again with Eric and said that grandad would help it get better. We obviously thought that it meant putting it out of it's misery due to it's injuries.
However, when I got to it the sparrow had recovered enough to be standing but didn't move when I bent down to it. I put my hand underneath it's chest and helped it onto my hand. It just sat there looking at me, must have known I was trying to help. Marlane suggested, through the glass, that I put it on top of the wall. The Sparrows all nest in the bushes on the other side of the wall. I put it up there and as I was walking back, to go inside, it flew off.
What a great experience to hold a wild bird in my hand and see that it was not afraid at all. Made me feel really good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.