Sailorwoman

By Sailorwoman

Hike up to Mt. Seefin

It was an amazing day here in west Cork - at least for most of it.

I'd had bad knees for a year, had surgery on one of them and still not much improvement and since then the other one had started to be awkward as well. This week I had steroid shots in both of them - painful but miraculous - I'd always been a hiker and loved trekking for miles up to high peaks but hadn't been able to do it for ages and truly missed it.

I was able to walk - and walk - and walk - I couldn't stop - I walked for 5 hours solid, climbed two peaks and came down ecstatic - what a day. It might have been a rather silly thing to do as I don't know what effects the hike may have but it felt so good I couldn't stop!

I did the Mt. Seefin loop - that's Ahakista - the little harbour - and the view is looking southeast - spectacular.

When I finally reached the road I hitched a lift with a lovely Polish family - and it started to pour - they gave me a lift all the way home - perfect end to the day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.