Lathyrus Odoratus

By lathyrus

An Die Musik

After collecting another load of horse manure for the garden I made a quick visit to the church of St Peter & St Paul at nearby Checkendon. It has some wonderfully well preserved 13th century wall paintings and some excellent stained glass. The latter includes a beautiful modern window by John Hayward. The three lights depict St John, St Luke and St Cecilia. Easily overlooked are these tiny lines of music underneath the full length portrait of St Cecilia. I'm told that they are the opening bars of An Die Musik , which seems like a nice touch. I'm also intrigued by the golden letter R above a white horse within a circle. I think this must be a makers' mark but not one I've seen before. So far as I know it doesn't belong to John Hayward (who has, in any case, signed and dated - 1987 - the window).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.