On the side

I got my hair cut this morning as it's my day off. Despite the windy weather, the day was beautifully sunny so I decided to take a wee stroll about the neighbourhood as it's very mixed and full of interesting wee gems.

North Leith Parish Church was nearby but I saw the sign today suggesting that the grounds were open so I decided to take a look at the burial enclosure beside it. They don't have a full graveyard as there is one nearby, close to where the earlier church used to stand. I don't know it or ever had plants growing up it, but the building is unroofed and just has this ornate iron trellis over to secure it.

Sadly, the church looks like it will be redundant soon as the three local parishes are joining now that congregations have dwindled. Today the church and Hall were opened as a food bank and a designated warm space for people who can't afford to heat their homes. I know they also have various community groups that use the hall. Fingers crossed that an appropriate new use or owner can be found.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.