Flower Friday. : : Osteospermum

I love the way these African Daisies spill over the wall. They've been happy  with all the rain this year. I noticed when we left for coffee this morning that they were all closed up and that the underside of the petals are purple. When they are fully open there is only a touch of purple in the centers. By the time we came back from our usual pleasant time with the usual suspects, the were fully open and I took this picture.

The party last night was pleasant.Despite the fact that she said she was up making South African curry at 1am,  Ann, our hostess seemed very relaxed and Paul, the birthday boy was enjoying himself. One of the other guests brought the most amazing appetizer called a Feta Tapenade Tarte de Soleil. Here is a link to the photo and the recipe.. She sent the full recipe, complete with pictures and I'm tempted to try it. It was delicious and a show stopper!

Cindy and Bruce decided not to come and were missed. The discussion around it highlighted the fact that more is not known  than known about this virus. There's no doubt that it's waning both in number of cases and in severity, but we are all still in hypercautious mode because people are still dying from it and very few people have forgotten how bad it was when the pandemic was declared back in 2020 when nobody had any answers. But a certain number of people die of the flu each year too. In fact, at this point, most people are getting sicker from the flu than they are from Covid. It is a dilemma, and one that is being left up to us to resolve on our own, for the government is going to stop paying for test kits and other Covid related items. I'm not sure what they are doing about boosters other than advocating that everyone have one. 

I talked to Cindy today, and they are both still testing negative, but their son, who is the one who exposed Cindy's husband, tested negative three times before he finally tested positive. As Cindy said, 'this is one time when you don't want to be a positive person'. 

There is a significant number of people who need to be told what to do by some higher power, and there are others who refuse to do anything they are told no matter what it is and who tells them. I think the government has decided to bow out of  telling people what to do about Covid and leaving it up to them. It's difficult to decide when nobody really knows the answer to what I now think of as 'the Covid Dilemma'.

I have to buy some binding material for a quilt I finished months ago. It's not my favorite one and I had mixed feelings about spending more money on it, but I decided I needed to get out of the house, so off I went. I turned right instead of left when I got to the main street across town but when I realized it, I just came back home rather than turn around. It was a nice drive and when I got home I decided to go through what I have one more time and found a couple of things that I think will work.

The frogs are still piping up when it gets dark, but it is getting dark later now, and we're not waiting for them to announce wine time. Soon it may be warm enough to sit outside for wine time, but we're not quite there yet. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.