Cityscapes

By bluewlf04

Aqueduct

Today my housemate and I decided (on the fly, of course) to go tubing in the James River. The storms were supposed to hold off until late in the evening so we set out on an ambitious 3 1/2 mile stretch. According to the weather service the water was at 5.14ft. It was absolutely beautiful out on the water. The sun was hot but broken up by clouds, and the water was just cool enough. Unfortunately, the storms rolled in a little early and we found ourselves trying to out run them. Luckily they changed direction right before they hit us.

I was not nearly brave enough (or stupid enough!) to carry my D90 with me on the river, so all of my shots today were with my dinosaur point and shoot (Fujifilm FinePix A330 with a whopping 3.2MP) wrapped in a ziploc bag. This proved to be a wise choice not only due to frequent splashing from the rapids (Class I and II), but also because we were each dumped as we crossed a short dam (roughly 2 feet tall).

This particular shot is of the CSX A-Line Bridge. Built in 1919, this concrete structure has always reminded me of ancient Roman aqueducts. In reality it supports two rail lines. The only aqueduct in this photo is the river which runs beneath it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.