Divided Attention

We have had a great day and done much even though it is only 3 PM.

I put my collies in the car and then I let the pugs search for sausage in the garden. It took them about 20 mins to find all the little treats and then they were ready to go in the car too.

We drove to Køge Nord Railway station, which has a great space for dog training. It is 45 far mins drive away from home, so I don't go there often, but it is worth doing once in a while as it is the perfect place for teaching the dogs to perform their moves in a busy environment. 

This picture illustrates perfectly why this is important to practise.  You can tell that Xmas has his eyes on me, but one ear is directed towards the people passing. His attention is divided between them and me, which means that he is more likely to make mistakes or find my cues/exercises overwhelming. 

When we compete at shows or perform at country fairs, there will be lots of distractions from the enviroment and if the dogs are not used to it, they will find it very difficult to get through their routines as I will not have their full attention. 

All 3 dogs had super training. When a train was about to depart or had just arrived, there were lots of people around and at other times it was very quiet Just perfect for working on ignoring distrations. I have uploaded a few extra pictures in the extra to show you the beautiful building.

I worked my 3 boys one at a time and then we drove 10 mins to Greve, where we met with my sister, who arrived home from her holiday early this morning. I met with her for lunch and to bring the pugs back to her. 

The boys had a nap in the car whilst we had lunch and then we drove to Sorø, where I put up some Nose Work hides before I took the boys for a walk. 

After our walk, I let the boys search for the hides. Another brilliant training session. Clever boys!

I do now have 3 happy dogs sleeping next to me.

Happy weekened
Emmy and the Hazyland Boys

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.