Dreich

Woke to a filthy morning, with mist and the sort of drenching light rain that quickly soaks through everything. Much to even my own amazement I still went off to the Parkrun though, and bumped into hazelh and mrhazelh when I pitched up at the start. Followed them most of the way round - seen here in the middle of the pack in front. Like last week I power walked with a couple of brief jogs on the downhill stretch (although oh my goodness I can feel it in my thighs even whilst I’m doing that very brief bit of running! Can’t work out why it feels so different to fast walking).
Pretty much the same time as last week, but this time 2nd in my age group….love being in the old slow category!
Home (that part of retracing my way up the hill and the steps is definitely the worst part of the whole thing), listening right to the end to the book group book for Monday, The Baghdad Clock by Shahad Al Rawi. Some lovely passages but I’m not getting engrossed…
Had a shower whilst A made scrambled eggs on toast and after we’d eaten breakfast we went out to the Furniture Initiative place where A got a desk chair and I got a bed head for the single bed in my spare room, then we went to see the new Loaf showroom. A&N’s new loaf sofa which arrived last week is gorgeous but she wanted to check on colours in case she’d chosen the wrong pink. There was a lot of talk of scatter cushions by the staff who were all shiny smiles and super helpfulness. I suspect it won’t be too long before they are very fed up of plumping sofas and tidying the vast number of scatter cushions!
Got home quite late and decided to relax with a film, and ended up watching two, one before supper (Dear Evan Hansen) and one afterwards (CODA). Enjoyed both, and A also managed to book up some tours/advance entry for places in Rome when we go in a week’s time. Should be great!
I dread to think how much my legs will ache tomorrow…we’ll see!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.