Mostly Six Five Oh

By nhc

I spent an enjoyable morning exploring the gigantic Tudor-Jacobean house at Temple Newsam.  I had the entire place to myself, the docents were amazing, knowledgeable and enthusiastic, I learned and saw a lot.  When I reached the picture gallery I was delighted to find a group of people dancing.  I stood and watched until the music stopped.  I chatted with one of the dancers, they were rehearsing for an upcoming performance of dances popular at the time of the English civil war: If you come next weekend we’ll be in costume!  Sadly I’ll be missing that but delighted to have had a behind the scenes sneak peek.

If you’re ever in the Leeds area, I recommend giving Temple Newsam a visit.  


Easy drive down to London.  Left the car at Heathrow and got a car service into town.  He got lost en route to our hotel.  

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.