Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

The Last Sunday before Lent

This shot of the nearby church seemed appropriate for a Sunday. I rather liked it silhouetted against the sunset.
Hindu temples are in many places around the town, there are very many small local ones as well as larger ones. Whenever there is a festival the noise of the celebrations - which have lots of drums and what sound like untuned wind instruments to my ear - played through immense loud speakers pointing outwards into the wider community, is phenomenal.
The local churches, of all denominations, retaliated by having loudspeakers fitted to the towers and broadcasting the Sunday sermons through them! Also very noisy but at least mainly in daytime or early evening rather than late at night.
It's very common to see churches decorated here. Many have illuminated crosses like the one in my blip, others have lights strung around their silhouettes and rooflines. All very striking and colourful.
I have had a quiet day today, I got lots of washing done in my big blue bucket. It's wonderful to have it dry so quickly in the heat.
I went out at lunch time and got some plain boiled rice which I had with a banana mashed in it and a freshly made poppadom. Back in my room, I watched a couple of episodes of the first series of Happy Valley which I enjoyed too. I'm going to take my ipad to Carries tomorrow and download another couple now there is some space on it.
It's been quite nice not having to do anything much. When going out in the relentless heat of around 39° with no breeze at all is an effort, simply staying in a cool environment doing very little can be a real joy. I know that's hard to imagine in the cool of a Scottish winter.
https://youtu.be/zXeRB-3nDR8
A song from 1968, two of my heroes Ronnie Lane and Steve Marriott with the Small Faces, before Rod Stewart got his hands on the band and they became The Faces.
Dinner this evening was another trip out by auto. I had a kashmir pilau rice dish which had apple, onion, cashews and pomegranate seeds amongst other things in it, some onion raita and a butter nan. With India being a largely Hindu country restaurants are classed as Veg or Non-Veg. It's one country where being vegetarian is very easy, vegan perhaps less so.
As a treat this evening I ate the second of the two posh chocs which I got on my flight into Trivandrum. I woke up as we were about to start our descent and found them sitting on the table in front of me. My arrival being at 2am I didn't feel like them at the time and they've kept remarkably well. It was extremely nice, chocolate in hot countries can be a real disappointment.
That's the weekend over. I've got three days in school next week then I'm going to Bangalore on Thursday. A friends daughter has just had her first child, a girl. I was at their engagement reception in 2018 so it's rather nice to be here for this too.
https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2409219837629826519

And it sounds like they have found Nicola Bulley, I'm so sad that this is how it has ended.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.