Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Another Bird Photo!

A day where I had captured a number of photos I could have posted, including a bunch of daffodil stalks in the park, where I presume they had been cut off at the base so someone could put them in a vase (grrrr); or a large frog on a local path, who had come out in the warm afternoon sunshine; or the washing line, used for the first time this year.

But late in the day, when the sun's rays came between our house and the neighbours, illuminating the feeders, I had this opportunity to capture one of the male chaffinches, coming in to try and grab a sunflower heart, while hovering.  The background is in deep shadow, helping to isolate the bird in flight.  The good lighting allowed me to use a faster shutter speed to freeze the body, while the wings are still moving too fast to do the same. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.