Homage to Aotearoa

 After being away for over nine weeks, it’s amazing how ‘normal’ being back home feels - something that never ceases to amaze me when returning from these long trips.  I must admit to feeling completely exhausted, however - and despite the comforts of the flight, my body clock is totally out of kilter. 


Apart from trips back and forth to fill or empty the washing machine, I spend most of the day horizontal, and the very notion of lifting up my camera and finding something to photograph is quite beyond me - as is venturing out for a walk. Instead, it’s a time to reflect on what we’ve seen and done, so here’s a collage with a few of my New Zealand shots as a final tribute to this beautiful country. 

I’d like to take this opportunity to thank those of you kind enough to follow our adventures - particularly those who had the stamina to stick around for the whole journey! I really do appreciate your comments and your kindness. And special thanks to feedback and suggestions from the Kiwi blippers - I’m only sorry that we didn’t manage any blipmeets. 

Despite the stresses of our last few days, we have such wonderful memories of this unique place - both its beauty  and its people - and despite my current tiredness, I’m so glad we made the effort to see as much of New Zealand as we did. I’m ashamed how little we knew of Maori history before we came, but we’ve learnt so much as we have travelled round, and love the bicultural/bilingual aspects of the country. We’ve witnessed at first hand something of the power of a cyclone when we were caught in Hale, and seen with shock and horror at a greater distance the sheer destructive force that Gabrielle brought. 

Over the next few months, I suspect I will be spending many hours in front of my computer editing both my photos and my journal before finally completing my New Zealand books. 

Many thanks for your kind responses to my mountain views yesterday -  all much appreciated. I’m now looking forward to getting back to visiting your journals - so sorry for my absence while away, but I know you’ll understand. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.