A typical view

The old and the new.
I heard the very sad news today that the Syrian family I sometimes order meals from lost 10 relatives in the recent earthquakes. So, so awful.
A little hard to change the tone now, but such is our lives. Today is the day when the Greeks eat a large dinner of mainly meat before Clean Monday and the beginning of fasting for Easter. That meant my 8pm class cancelled.
It worked for me because it meant I could teach the kids from 6-8pm instead of 6-7pm as it’s impossible to do both due to wifi and no quiet classroom from 8-10pm. Sadly I had to let them know I can’t do Thursdays anymore because I’ll be busy on a course. There were some very sad students, particularly in the second group. They got teary, I got teary.. I patted one on the shoulder on the way out, he hugged me, they all hugged me.. it was a sad trip home. I didn’t want this but there was no other solution. At least I’ll be less tired, getting home at 11pm after an 830am start was hard.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.