... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Coliseum: Waiting for Rheingold

More unsuspecting in large
Back blip

Can I turn time back blip? Give me my 2hrs 45mins back blip? No. NO. I'm glad that I went, and that it's over...
Mum, Im, Owen (Imogen's brother), and I went to see the ENO perform Wagner's Rheingold at the Coliseum. It was an excellent production, but an excellent production of (IMO) an awful opera... It just rambled on like so many hours of vaguely (pointlessly) melodic recitative without any satisfying structure (a few almost arias and a couple of motifs that recurred half-heartedly), so I think it just isn't for me, so that'll save me some money in future. 
Much of the audience went wild when it was all over, and if a measure of success in opera is how affecting it is, then this delivered me a greater sense of relief (when the curtain came down) than I've ever experienced in a theatre, so "Bravo"? Can't fault the ENO, and the staging and glitter were fab!

Others here (or right from Hellebore translucence)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.