Mountain tarn

Oh, mountain tarn, I dare to venture near
Thy grassy rim and stand amid the reeds
Knee-high, and look into thy gloomy deeps
Unstirred by aught; perhaps the faintest breeze
Skims thy dark surface; solitude is here!
Tranquillity and peace. Nothing invades
Thy calm serenity. At hand, perhaps,
Mountain sheep stumbles, and quietude flees,
And from the ground disturbed game-birds rise
And skim the lake to settle in some spot
Where stillness is and mountain sheep is not.
I bend to thee, oh tarn, again my eyes
Piercing thy depths, too deep for me to say,
Too deep for thought: and so I turn away!
WT Quirk 

A sunshine and heavy showers kind of day. I escaped the book and headed over the mountain for a coffee (and homemade flapjack) with TJ. A lot to catch up on and the colours were looking rich in the strong light. 
Back for a spot of work and then we did a yomp around the circuit getting only slightly wet. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.