Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Grrrrrr!

What a frustrating day. An early morning visit to a bluebell wood just outside Lichfield left me with the expectation of some good macro shots. I got home at lunchtime and started to download the images.............

.............disaster! None of the images were recognised in the Lightroom import facility. I remember reviewing some of them while in the wood, so I put the card back in the camera. No images came up on the rear screen! Ok, no problems, I know I've got a file recovery disk in the study..........at least I did before we decorated the room! Look high, look low, no luck.

Right, I can look on the Internet, but...........no Internet connection. Phone the ISP. "Errors on the line" I'm told by Megan who sounds as though she is from Ireland. After testing I am told the issue needs to be 'escalated'. "Good, lets do that then" I said. "Sorry, our line testing facility isn't working at the moment, so I can't pass you to 'Customer Solutions'" Megan says, "Phone back after 7pm, it should all be working by then". Frustration!

So I phone back at 7pm. "We are experiencing high call levels, we expect to answer your call within 10 minutes" a recorded Scottish voice says. I wait. 8 minutes later (they've learnt the Scottie principle) the call is answered. "My name is Sally, how can I help you" a lady asks in a thick Asian accent. NOOOOOOO! I give up as previous experience tells me that she will follow the script to the letter, which is designed to frustrate you into submission and waste half an hour of your life.

So hear I sit with various options:

1. Give up after 503 consecutive days of blipping

2. Go out and take another photo (any photo) and use the ipad to upload. It's grey and murky already, hardly inspiring.

3. Have a rant on the unfairness of life.

I chose the latter. I may or may not return, depending on my discussions with Sky Customer Solutions tomorrow. I hope they pick up on how irritated I am before they make me retest my connections, the master socket, the micro filter, etc. etc.

I hope you have had a better day than me. It all seemed so enjoyable first thing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.