Deja Vu

Started the day with an early call to G&K to sort out their visit in September, most of which looks like it’ll be on Skye. I spent some time looking at old photos along the route to work out where to stop and various options for things to do.
Spent the rest of the morning doing some commenting on papers and drafting letters of invitation for events next month then did a chunk of genealogy stuff. Wrote individual names and details as I discovered them on post-it notes and spread them all out over the kitchen table, stretching over the generations….already back to great great grandparents on my mother’s side. Working out how to navigate through the various websites as I went, and getting confused because of the repeated names through the family (which Isabella am I reading about?!) and records where the same person seemed to have different names, but it’s engrossing and fun. Particularly drawn to exploring the places where they lived and how the house where I was born and lived for 5 years was within walking distance of three houses that my family had lived in at various points of the previous 150 years. I don’t think anyone knew that though….was certainly never mentioned as far as I remember….in fact I don’t recall any discussion of earlier generations at all.
Much more hectic afternoon, getting nails redone (navy blue again), then a cup of tea and a lot of chat with W. Lovely to catch up and reconnect. From there past EFI….still not complete but certainly progressing fast….to meet S over a gin and then a very tasty Japanese supper. Interesting to get her take on stuff and we covered a lot of ground.
Home for some quiet time watching a bit of nonsense and reflecting. It’s been quite an afternoon for immersion in my previous life!
N sent a photo of Paisley at the beach today (extra) and lovely to see her enjoying the place with no other dogs around.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.