Northern Exposure

By Northern

A hero in my eye

I made an optician very happy today. Did something that I thought was a myth and got my contact lens stuck right up where the eyeball goes round to the dark side.

My lens had flipped off the iris when the wind caught it (yes, I am serious) and it had gone into the crease at the edge where it suctioned onto my eyeball. Wasn’t painful, actually didn’t even feel it very much but I could not get it loose. So headed straight for my optician who very kindly saw me straightaway and did a bit of nifty work with pointy objects and deft fingers to get it free.

No damage to eyeball or lens and everything back to normal. The optician was delighted as she’d never actually seen this happen before and it made a change to the usual routine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.