Dress Designer

After Preschool Ellie and went out to lunch and then to the Brookwood Library. We checked out a few books and then we went to see what was available in the large room where there are many supplies to encourage a person to be creative. Ellie cut out strips of paper to make a design on a sheet of paper, but we couldn't find any glue or a sheet of paper, so she looked around for something else to do. She saw the dress form with fabric draped on it and asked if she could take the fabric off and make a new design; of course, I said she could. The big box of various pieces of fabric was fascinating to her and she picked out several pieces she liked. The photo is her pinning the pieces on the form. The fabric pieces were mostly small so it was a challenge to put together a full dress, but she didn't care; she felt good about what she was able to do with what was there. I think the next time I go there I will donate some pieces of fabric, I have lots of it in storage boxes. We will definitely bring some glue sticks for paper art projects too. 

Oh, by the way, the weatherman predicted we might have a little snow this afternoon and we notice it was cold and windy when we went into the library, but no sign of snow then. Later, within a short amount of time, Portland ended up with a lot of snow. I just saw on the news that the airport had 10.8 inches and the rest of the area had varying inches of snow. In the extra photo, you can see we have about 2 inches of snow now at 11PM. Luckily I took Ellie home and I got back here before the snow started. The downpour of beautiful large flakes was mesmerizing; I love watching it but I don't like driving in it. 

Now I am off to bed and will be anxious to see how much snow we have by morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.