pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Awning time

Today we stayed 'in'. We have done everything we came to do, and today was rest day. It began with a cup of tea in bed, then breakfast, before getting up at around 10. It had been cold last night, so Jon put the heater on at about 8 I think, then we dozed, reluctant to expose ourselves to the late February chills.

As the day went on, it warmed up - especially in the awning, which meant we could sit out there for lunch. We read a lot - I have almost finished the book I started Sunday. And it's quite fat! Unheard of for me!

I put a message on Facebook, letting old friends who live in Linton know that we plan an evening in The Crown tomorrow. I thought that if anyone we know is free, they might want to come and say hello. But it also means those who didn't like us can avoid it! Lol. Kind of me, I thought. Sadly some friends have been in touch to say they are busy, but it is so hard to organise seeing people when we live so far away, and there will always be some clashes. I'm looking forward to catching up with some lovely people anyway.

Spent the afternoon looking at my poems and continuing to try and order them in a book template. The editing and formating is hard. Anyway, I'm getting there. I've added about 30 poems and changed a few along the way. I have them in no order whatsoever on my laptop. So this is my main way of having the best ones preserved for ever. It has to be a 2023 project!

Nipped into Market Harborough this evening to buy some nice food (Still vegetarian, but not good for you food!!) So after the remains of yesterday's chilli, we have fresh fruit, fresh cream cakes and chocolate!

Have had contact with Henry today. He is enjoying his own company up in the wilds of Scotland. Staying dry in his little tent, even though he has had rain today and every night.

We will all be back together Sunday when we come together with the rest of the Gibbs clan to celebrate John's 80th birthday.

How can he be 80...where does the time go?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.