A day in the life

By Shelling

New gear

The sound-mixer that I bought eleven years ago has served me well through concerts and recordings but has signalled that it's not working very well with my computer anymore. I don't know if it's the software inside that are getting too old to work with my computer or if it's something else. 

A year ago I started looking for a newer model, the one I have aren't produced anymore, and I've found a few on internet, mostly in a facebook-group for studio equipment. I don't like buying things on Facebook, or selling for that matter. On several occasions when I have been interested in something, contacting the seller was a weird and unpleasant experience. I got the feeling that if I proceeded, I was going to get robbed. Indeed there are many imposters out there but so far I've been precautious and didn't proceed with the purchase. 

This time though, I got a good contact with the seller, a young student who didn't have any use for the mixer he'd bought and wanted to sell it. Just the model I've been looking for. I managed to get a personal telephone contact with him and in the end decided to buy the mixer. He sent it a week ago and after several delays, which produced some anxiety, I got it yesterday evening. I've tested it and so far it seems perfect. Hardly used at all and it looks fairly new, just like he said. It works very well with my computer and I think I will use this one as long as I'm active in the business.

Be careful out there, the imposter trade is growing rapidly and they get more and more clever each day. Read up on good advise from experts on net-buying and take your time finding the right thing. It has to feel right.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.