Embarkation

A more pedestrian vibe usually descends on Maputo at weekends so the view from the hotel onto one of the main avenues on a Saturday morning was one of quiet. I miss the stroll-friendliness of Maputo’s streets compared to Dar es Salaam’s.

I am heading to Europe straight from Mozambique for two weeks of various meetings. With gloves and a warm coat stuffed into my hand luggage I embarked on the long journey from Maputo in the afternoon.

I transited in Addis Ababa, which has had a major upgrade since I was last there, in terms of services, toilets that are no longer Portakabins and with new branches of Burger King and Pizza Hut. I noted a lingering paucity of charging facilities for those of us, who even on Saturdays, are getting harangued about annual report deadlines.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.