Sunny Day

A very welcome one!   Off to Aberystwyth with Jamie after a spell in the greenhouse getting a few plants ready for the AGS Show at Pershore on Saturday.  It's almost 25 years since I showed plants on a regular basis.   For a few years I travelled to half a dozen or so events around the country enjoying a modicum of success, making friends and learning a lot about the plants and how to grow them.   I'll be staying at Ruth's for the weekend, a convenient staging post.   She's 25 now - so you can work out why my showing stopped!   Above is Fritillaria carica, flowering for the first time.  Three bulbs raised from five seeds, sown five years ago.  It's about three inches tall.

Jamie's asthma played up so he didn't go for the planned ride with the adaptive cycling group but we used the time well, sorting a withdrawal from his old savings account and doing some useful shopping.  Amongst other things I found Charlotte seed potatoes and tall canes for Runner Beans and Sweet Peas.  We also found a Tilda and kidnapped her for the weekend.

After tea I had an evening at pottery, mostly spent working on the latest creation which had been wrapped in plastic for a while.   I'm pleased with the animals, extra pic, what do you think?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.