Korimako (Bellbird)

A friend rang me this morning to tell to bring my camera to her house as she had a group of herons resting in an old pine tree. I dashed around and got some great shots of the herons - although I know they nest in trees I've never seen more than two of them in a tree at a time. When I first arrived there were 8 of them although the number changed as they came and went.

They were there for more than an hour so I settled in on her veranda with a cup of tea and my lens trained on her garden. At one point we heard a bellbird and then he appeared within about 6 feet of us. I snapped off lots of shots but had the camera set for the bright light and blue sky where the herons were, not the dark bush the bellbird was in. Rubbish shots. Heart broken.

Then along came waxeyes and a grey warbler that I got some lovely shots of - so my mood lifted again.

Two hours later when was about to pack up this female bellbird arrived and sang in her maple. I love the contrast of the green bird and the red leaves - although am surprised that the red leaves seem to have 'dulled' her green somewhat. Love the way her eye matches the tree anyway.

I'm clearly going to have to kick her out and move into her house so that I can have these bird photography opportunities on a daily basis. Well, it's that or plant trees at my house and then wait 5 years for them to grow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.