Waterloo

An ex-colleague is now a colleague once more as we have both wound up working for WWF, and he has a senior role at the Belgium office. Ergo it’s very nice catching up with him in between meetings. After time at the office I accompanied him on the train to the family home, which is hilariously located in the suburb of Waterloo straddling the border between French-speaking (Wallonia) and Flemish-speaking (Flanders) Belgium. Literally, either side of the road opposite his house belongs to different regions.

We ate veggie grub and yogurt with his four kids and advanced to martinis with his wife Tsjitske. She kindly presented me with a box of mince pies as I’d said I had missed Christmas foods over the holidays. I call that a win.

Brussels is quite grey in winter. The Cathédrale des Saints Michel et Gudule loomed overhead as I walked in the city centre.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.