Life through the lens...

By ValC

100 years old!

This week was the 100th Birthday of The Flying Scotsman, and to celebrate the Yorkshire Post printed a Giant souvenir poster today. Also dedicated the Magazine to the engine. Some really interesting articles.
The Poet Laureate has also written a poem:
‘ The making of the Flying Scotsman’. by Simon Armitage.
However it isn’t a patch on the poem written by W.H. Auden entitled ‘ The Night Mail’. Written in 1936.
The ‘ train’ I have used in the photo is a tin which used to contain fudge. ( no longer) bought for MrC, by me a few years ago.
The viaduct is Ribblehead.

Pleased to say my foot is slightly less painful, but still can’t walk on it. So sat with my feet up. MrC looking after me well!

We are watching the rugby the moment. Although I am reading the paper, and doing my Blip.

A few of you knew the answer to yesterday’s quiz.
Marton - in - Cleveland was where Captain Cook was born and he went to school in Great Ayton. ( even I would have got it wrong as I thought he was born in Great Ayton)

Today’s question is quite topical.

Yorkshire Quiz No. 25.
Where was the Flying Scotsman built?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.