‘parkrun 500 - Done at last!’

I finally did my 500th parkrun this morning! It's been a long time getting there - since my first one over 12 years ago. Still, I can honestly say that getting the parkrun habit has been a very positive discipline in lots of ways, physically, socially and emotionally.

I'm now entitled to wear the blue parkrun 500  Milestone Snood and will also get a matching 500 t-shirt soon. 

I am the 16th Scottish ‘500 Clubber’ and the oldest. I'm pretty certain that -these days at least - I am also the slowest. But then I am also reminded of the parkrun mantra that ‘its a run, not a race’!

parkrun is always very friendly and welcoming and the two extras illustrate this. I was really touched by the fellow runners, walkers and volunteers cheering me on, especially as I was finishing, (first extra), and by the visitor from Dublin celebrating her 150th parkrun, who shared her celebratory balloons with me (see second extra).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.