Stockbridge

This morning I visited  to Stockbridge, an attractive Hampshire village on the River Test. I went to have my eyes tested and  to choose new specs  at the newest branch of the  Company for which I used to work.  It is in a lovely old building but that  caused the Company a headache trying to get permission to make internal  alterations. It was good to catch up with old colleagues. I had hoped to meet a friend  who lives in the village  but as she wasn't available I went  for a walk by myself. The main blip shows a view from a bridge in the village looking across the Test valley. The extra shows Old St Peter's church at the other end of  the village. It dates from the 12th century . Most of it was demolished in 1870's when a new church was built in the  High Street, leaving just the  Norman chancel behind. The door seemed locked today  but apparently the church is occasionally used for  services. 
This  afternoon I braved a visit to my Mother in the Care Home. She  was still demanding  I take her back to her home, which isn't realistic. However,  she and I were both pleased that  the leg ulcer whish has been troubling her for  nearly five months  is now healed. After I left her, I  found a couple of the  nurses  to thank them for the  excellent care they are giving my Mum. They don't seem too concerned about her angry outbursts and  demands to go home.. I think  she may be saving them for me and my sister! 
In the evening we went to an informal  folk music gig performed by a group of friends at a local venue.  There was plenty of audience participation encouraged  with joining in with singing the choruses. 
All good fun.         

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.