I have worked in a number of countries and during my travels I have eaten
some odd things. Once in Slovakia I was offered "something from the wood"
which tasted rancid. It turned out to be a type of wild pig.  In South
America, I ate guinea pig , and drank milk to which blood had been added. In
Uganda I once feasted on flying ants. I had little choice in any of these
culinary events as I was a captive guest at the table of a well meaning
host.

But I must say I have never eaten barnacle goose, alligator or beaver meat.
I've only recently come to learn that all three of these tasty comestibles
are acceptable food to eat during Lent.

Lent has been with us in some form from the mid 4th century. In the
Christian tradition it has always been associated with a 40 day period made
up of fasting, penance and prayer. It was designed as a preparation period
for Easter, allowing the faithful an appropriate time during which they
could make themselves ready for this special festival. Lent as a word means
lengthening and derives from an old English word relating to Spring-  a time
when the days lengthen.  In the Eastern Orthodox  tradition it is called the
period of "bright sadness".

Christians have always been resourceful and well understood the limitations
on human endurance that a 6 week fasting period would entail. Accordingly
they invented a day immediately before the fasting where people could stock
up on food. It was called a carnival, now known as Mardi Gras. The word
carnival comes from two Latin words flesh and farewell. Self explanatory.

Lent has been given a bad press over the years, tainted as it is with the
negative concept of abstinence, from food, alcohol and for the Greek
Orthodox tradition, abstinence stretches into the marital space! I was
constantly asked as a child "What are you giving up for Lent?" For many of
my friends it was an excuse to go on a crash diet and they resolved to stop
eating chocolate.

Abstinence was always meant to be a vehicle rather than the focus of Lent.
It was meant to clear the mind from physical desires to allow a focus on
spiritual reflection.

So, for me at least I won't be giving up anything this Lent. I will, rather,
be taking up a new spiritual challenge. Some of my friends have challenged
themselves to read the Bible in the 40 days, other have take up work as a
volunteer in a food bank or with a charity.

So, maybe it's time to rethink and maybe even rebrand Lent as a time of
"Bright sadness". The sadness as we remember the darkness of Good Friday and
the brightness the empty tomb that followed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.