analogconvert13

By analogconvert13

#730. Leica/Lumix Macro-Elmarit 45mm

A few days ago, Blipfoto gave me a heads-up that I was coming up on my 730th Blip, two full years'-worth.  Well, we all know that it has taken me much more than two calendar years to reach this second milestone...  When I first started Blipping back in 2014, with Cousin Crispin25 encouraging from the rear, I went at it religiously every day for a year, and then some.  Then I lost my Blip mojo, and dropped out.  But when I came back, I decided to Blip only when the mood took me, and this is how I've approached it for the last few years.  So here we are.  I was thinking this morning how to mark this milestone. 
 
If I were to be Robinson Crusoe, I would ensure that I had a full set of the CDs of Johann Sebastian Bach's cantatas - 215+ -, the means to listen to them, AND a full set of the Neue Bach Ausgabe scores so that I could analyze and study the music carefully.  Armed thus, I would be perfectly happy to live out my days under a palm tree with the ever-present sound of the waves in the background.  I am not alone in this total reverence for Bach's church music:  famous tenor Peter Schreier has opined that Bach may have been G-d - if we're in search of such entities...  As I was contemplating how to portray this 730th Blip, I mulled some play on BWV 730.  My research revealed this work to be a chorale prelude based on the Lutheran hymn, Liebster Jesu, wir sind hier.  The hymn, well-known to the congregation, would be sung, while the organist - in this case Bach himself - would improvise embellished variations on the theme between each stanza.  But how does one Blip that?

Back to basics:  I have amongst my woodworking tools, several sets of number and letter punches in different sizes.  For the Blip, I taped together the relevant numbers from the 5mm set, and sent the amazing Macro-Elmarit off to see what it could reveal.  The  marks from the milling process are clearly visible, and they add a certain interest to the numbers.  Then it was just a matter of flipping the image, because the numbers are backwards, of course.  730 it is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.