*¨*:•Everyday Magic•:*¨*

By Squatbetty

Inside Our Autistic Minds

Norm recommended the new Chris Packham documentary about autism to me a couple of days ago. I'd heard about it, and I love CP, but ironically the thought of watching it made me feel anxious. But as I've felt on edge for most of this weekend anyway due to one thing and another I decided to watch it.

I ended up watching both, one after the other. Thought it was really good and found myself relating to each of the autistic people featured for different reasons. I especially related to Anton and his reaction to change, and the anxiety unexpected changes can cause, and also his need to control his time. I also related to CP when he went into the indoor market in Sheffield and the hypersensitivity issues that places like that can create. I was only telling someone the other day how indoor markets make me anxious, all the different, and often unpleasant smells, mixed together. All the noises of people and clashing music from each stall. Never understood when I was little why the thought of going to the market made me on edge, I totally get it now.

It's a good programme and I'd recommend to anyone with autism, or with autistic people in their life or just if you want to have a glimpse into what it's like to have autism. A link to it on iPlayer is here.

Went for a stroll along the canal late afternoon and took an upside down reflection for today's blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.