Live it loud!

By Lostpixel

Correction

Yesterday I posted a frame from some video that I had been playing around with while doing some test shots using close-up filters on an Anamorphic video lens. 
I inadvertently made an error describing the format at CinemaScope which was picked up on by one of my regular readers - Many thanks to Colstro for pointing out the misrepresentation/error. 

Nerd alert!!! Unless you are in any way interested in video, I'm sure you will find this very boring. If you are experienced in video, I expect you will find yet more holes in my knowledge and skills.

I simply didn't do the maths properly and ended up with an image with a 3x aspect ratio. CinemaScope is 2.35 (although it can vary a little). Normal UHD/HD TV is 16/9 (1.78 in real money). So, I played again and sorted out the maths for creating different aspect ratios and crops on the raw video (with a 3x aspect) into CinemaScope and also Panavision (2.7 aspect ratio). There are several steps to creating video output to the correct size and aspect ratio along with different crops available to place the interesting parts of the video on the screen. 

This is quite time consuming but an interesting and challenging exercise - you can create quite different edits from the same footage without losing any real quality. Indeed, if the original was done in 8k, there would be no loss of data when creating a 4k(or more accurately UHD) wide edit. The rendering time though climbs enormously. 
This is another frame but done in Panavision format. 

The extra is yesterdays image in CinemaScope format. Far less wide than it was.
Now, maybe I should get a proper hobby....:-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.