Not a heron

How lucky we have been to have had yet another beautiful day. It was perfect for the work party at the community orchard in the morning. Who would have thought that we would be shedding layers of clothing in late February? We had a good turnout and a lot was achieved, including pruning the apple trees. However, still more to be done so some of us plan to meet again tomorrow afternoon to finish the pruning.
Bertie was “dog tired” after a morning roaming free in the orchard. He spent  three hours exploring, sniffing every corner and checking what everyone was doing, not stopping once for a lie down. However, by 9.30pm he was ready for a wee wander round the garden and he couldn’t have timed it better. As always, I looked up to check what was happening in the sky above and noticed a green glow to the north. Upon checking my phone I discovered a red alert for the Aurora Borealis over the UK so Bertie and I headed up the hill to get a view to the north. It was well worth the effort as I could see the hint of a red glow above the usual green. Although the red is usually picked up by a camera (the camera lens enhances all the colours of the Aurora) I don’t think I have seen it with the naked eye as well as I did tonight.
The reason for the strange title, “Not a heron” is because I had a photo of a heron lined up for my blip, and then the Aurora appeared.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.