The starling problem

My next door neighbour had starlings nesting under their eves for two years but the space had to be blocked up due to the noise carrying into the bedroom.

I like starlings and sadly their numbers have declined massively in recent years.

It seems that starlings have moved into my house and taken up residence in the outlet pipe for my bathroom extractor fan.

They are pulling out lumps of white fluffy stuff from the pipe (an accumulation of 36 years of my occupation).  They mostly just throw it out of the flaps - it looks as if it's been snowingas it flies around and settles everywhere.  Occasionally they carry a beakful away.

I don't know if they're finding the best bits for a nest elsewhere or if they're cleaning the pipe out for a nest.  Much as I love birds I'm not going to be able to let them stay.  Their sharp claws could damage the pipe, they could get through into my loft, there would be bird poo and parasites in my house as well as the pipe being blocked with sticks.

F has kindly volunteered go up a long ladder and put a cage over the entrance when the birds are out.  I'm sorry that they will have to be evicted but they could cause a lot of problems if they stay.

My blip tells the story!

Tonight is another panto practice.  From last to next Sunday there will be 4 x 4 hours plus practices and 4 performances- phew!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.