City trip preparations

Tomorrow I'm off to London for a few days, and today I have to prepare for that. The main thing to do was to bring Toby to his holiday-dog-hotel address in Vlagtwedde. He's been there several times now, and I know they will take good care of him, but still this is a huge threshold I have to cross everytime again.
The moment Toby realizes he's coming with me in the car, he knows what's going on.
This time Peter came along, because we thought it would be a nice idea to make a short photo trip out of it as well.
At 06:45 am sharp Peter arrived and at 7:30 the three of us arrived at Faunanatuurlijk, Toby's place for the rest of the week.
I handed him over to the owner, had a quick chat and then left as quickly as I could, just like parents have to do when leaving their kids behind a school for the first time. Bye Toby! See you on Saturday.

Peter and I then went to a small nature reserve De Smeerling, near Onstwedde. We walked 7 kilometers in total, but during our walk we often  stopped of course for photography. Around 09:30 we were done. The light became too harsh and the foggy circumstances had dissapeared by then. (we didn't have much fog, but still, enough to use it in the photo)

We went on to Ter Apel, Hotel Het Boschhuis for a coffee and a delicious hazelnut cream pastry. Photography again after that, in the woodlands of Ter Apel.
Lunch was had just across the border, in Germany. We treated ourselves to a nice Currywurst mit Pommes.

On the way back home I quickly bought a new jacket at Klahsen Sport in Aschendorf (for the London trip) and at 14:00 we were back in Delfzijl.

I quickly packed my things and then went to my mother for a cup of tea. Joke was there also. At 16:30 we left, said goodbye to her and promised to send lots of photos the upcoming days. I also promised to come by for coffee next Saturday morning.

Once in the car I was glad the two goodbye-issues were done and I can now fully focus on tomorrow. I filled the tank and double checked the things I'm taking with me. That's not much. I'll be traveling light. No camera, just my phone.

I hope I'll be able to sleep a bit early this evening. We're leaving at 02:15 tonight. So, my next blip will probably be from the UK.
It's been exactly 4 years since I've been in London. The last time was for a terrible reason. Somehow that all comes back to mind as well.

On the agenda in London are: The Harry Potter Studios and ABBA.
Should be fun!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.