ABT

By ABT

February reads

February reads.

First up was The Sanatorium. I bought it for the flight over to Aberdeen from Schiphol, thinking I'd get a few pages read, which would at least take my mind off the take-off, which I really don't like.
This is Sarah Pearse's debut novel and it's a beauty. It had me gripped from the outset and I had it finished in very few sittings, as it was so easy to read page, after page, after page...I can confirm I had several very sleepy work-days after staying awake till the wee small hours reading this. The reason I chose it was that it was set in the Swiss Alps, an area of the world I love, and it was set in a hotel, cut-off from the cities beyond due to an avalanche. Lots of twists and turns...
I'm looking forward to reading more of Sarah's works.

Next up was Jo Nesbo's 'The Bat', the first in the Harry Hole series. This one was sent to me as a gift and I was keen to get started on it. I'd not read any of Jo's books, so this was greatly received. Jo was a player in the Norwegian Premier football team, Molde, then after tearing his knee ligaments, he went on to do military service, then became a DJ and also worked as a financial analyst. He was originally tasked by publishers to write a memoir about life touring with his band but instead came up with the plot for this book.
Harry Hole is a Norwegian detective who ends up in Australia, working on a case involving the murder of a Norwegian student and ends up on the hunt for a serial killer. Another gripping read, which had me incorrectly guessing at who the killer was, right till the end.
Now to make a start on the second book in the series. I hope March's books are as good as these two.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.