barbarathomson

By barbarathomson

Masts and Money

It was a dull still day as we edged out from the pontoon into the main waterway.  Reflected in the water were hundreds and hundreds of masts, each with its real ship attached at the water-line; an abstract of lines in shades of grey.

But then I thought about our conversations the night before, how so many of these beautiful boats are hardly ever sailed but are used as tax sinks, or week-end gin-palaces, or as fair-weather motorboats. Unimaginable amounts of floating money. Their very presence in such numbers is an arrogance of status,  a carelessness towards resources and a waste of opportunity.

I looked along the deck of our boat, a very well used Bavaria 35, working out, giving joy, building resilience and skills. Current price around £70,000 for a 2009  build. And I thought again, Yes, if I ever had the skills to sail her myself properly I might well sell my house, buy a sister ship and explore the seas. 

So, no good clumping all those masts with their owners into one uncomfortable finance  box. 
At least some of the vessels we are passing will be someone's hard-earned striven-for dream. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.