meayrs

By meayrs

Parrot fashion

Ah, I thought, this is easy - parrots. Lots of them, lots of noise, and they just look like parrots. But turning to the Bible I find (I should have known) that there are parrots and parrots. These fine creatures, shot in parkland near the shore of Lake Lacar, are in fact Austral Parakeets (aka Eng. Emerald Parakeets, Austral Conures, Sp. Cachaña, Lat. Enicognathus ferrugineus).

At first to my untrained eye I thought this might be the Burrowing Parrot Sp. Loro Barranquero, Lat. Cyanoliseus patagonus), which is found in the area. But they weren't burrowing (!), and the pictures in the book look more like the Austral Parakeet. Of course I may be wrong ... it seems identifying birds is almost as hard as photographing them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.