Sh(J)oetree Day/St David's Day/First Day Of Spring

I saw #JoeTreeDay2023 mentioned in one of Cailleach's blips. I don't usually take part in challenges but as I've been blipping for ten years I thought I'd take a pic in honour of founder Joe Tree. Made me think of shoetree so I've included one.  

I went to Clayton Hill in Nazeing and was pleased to see that the oak tree on top of the hill is still clinging onto life. It looks down on a sea of glasshouses in the Lee Valley, very much in the news because of the shortage of cucumbers and salad crops. 

As it is St David's Day I took a leek and a daffodil to include in my image. I was very interested to read that leek in Welsh is cenhinen and daffodil is cenhinen pedr - very similar.

It's the first day of spring too. I saw a lovely yellowhammer and heard skylarks at Lodge Farm this morning. 

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.