horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Edinburgh Nocturne: Dive for the Line

The Nocturne cycling series rolled into Edinburgh tonight, with a 1.2km circuit starting in the Grassmarket, and going up the cobbled, steep (1 in 5 and more) Victoria Street, with a fast run back to the start line.

There were a series of races of varying categories, culminating in the elite race, with some great pros riding (and David Millar cruising to victory). These guys are inhuman, the way they just sprinted up the cobbles.

Anyway, for me the focus was the Folding Bike Race, because I was riding in it. I think I came in top half of the field, but I can't be sure. We only had three laps, but on a borrowed bike I only picked up yesterday, after deciding to enter on Wednesday after seeing there were places still available... Well I was quite happy just to finish it at all! It's the 'fun' event of the night, with competitors sort of in business attire, and the bikes starting the race folded, with us 30 yards away, set up for a Le Mans style sprint.

I added to the comedy factor with a big mousetache, which then blew off at the end of the first lap. On the second lap people who I had heard shouting "Look at his mousetache!" were then shouting "He's lost his mousetache!". I think my work in bringing a little fun into their evening worked! I actually stopped to pick up the tache towards the end of the last lap, only have it fly off again 20 yards further on.

Coming to the finish a chap pulled alongside and suggested we go over the line together, so we held hands and raised them aloft between us in true Tour de France style - which managed to get a big cheer as well. I hope it's back next year, because I certainly will be!

Very very hard choice of which photo to use, but I liked this end to the Category 4 race, and I think the b&w treatment works on it.

The whole group of shots is here...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.