ShanWilliams

By ShanWilliams

In the blink of an eye

On the 4th of January 1988 I moved into the nurses home at St. Luke’s Hospital in Bradford and started my nurse training, it doesn’t feel that long ago! Today I worked my final shift before retirement. So much has changed in nursing and the NHS over the last 35 years and not all those changes have been for the better, though some have. I’ve laughed, I’ve cried, I’ve been exhausted, I’ve made wonderful friendships and memories. Like most nurses my career isn’t really over. I was eligible for special classes retirement at the age of 55 and in April I will be allowed to return to work 16 hours a week, an offer I have chosen to accept. I’m sure I can manage a few more years working two days a week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.