Windmill 'De Hoop', Loenen aan de Vecht

'Hoop' = sounds like and means 'hope', but could also mean 'heap', as in a 'heap of trouble' but also a 'heap of clothes' with the connotation of 'messy'.
'Loenen' = 'LOO-nun' -- a small village 'aan de' = 'on the' or 'along the'
'Vecht' = a wide well-known river close to the town of Utrecht.  There are several villages along the Vecht, but Loenen is the best known.
Actually, 'vechten' means 'to fight'.  I do not know if the river was called the 'Vecht' because of the struggle against flooding.  There are a good number of windmills along the Vecht, attesting to the great need for maintaining water levels and pumping out excess water.

Went to work, worked, went hunting, went back home.  Perfect weather which, as we know, doesn't always last, so I was determined to snatch the opportunity the moment my classes were done.  Wonder of wonders, absolutely no traffic jams going there, perhaps due to the spring break in the north, but, whatever the reason was, I was very, very thankful.

The mill itself was built in 1901, so fairly new.  It's standing on a narrow street, directly next to the local canal.  I was here sometime last year, in the fall, one of the failed Plan A.  Well, today, with the sunny skies, I got exactly what I came for.  I solved the crappy space simply by walking further down the street and ignoring the obstacles.

AW is still busy canvassing the prices of solar panels, and the monthly payments aren't that horrendous, plus a part of the price will come from government subsidy.  He is, however, requesting the municipal government to cut down a couple of trees in that empty spot next to our house.  I really wonder if they will give in.  We have two years to avail of the subsidy, so I hope we'll get a response soon.  I did remind AW, though, that it would be even more doable if they extended my employment contract yet again.

The dry annoying cough is still there and it's exhausting.  At least, I am so tired when I go to bed that I am completely knocked out almost the moment I lie down.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.