Red, Green, and Blue

By GemmoMC

Cards for Any Graduate

It's hard to believe that I will be graduation from college soon. I could count the days down, but I won't. I want to relish each last moment I have as an undergrad. These last four years have gone by so quickly. I've met so many great people. I've lived in so many different places - from the dorms, to an off-campus apartment, to back home, and finally in a foreign country. I've done extra-curriculars, in the form of yearbook. I've pulled countless "all-nighters." I've learned so much about film and media, digital art, French; and out of the textbook, life.

My grades may reflect my ability to perform academically; however, they will not show how much material I will remember. My view on school and learning has always been, since the beginning of college, about the process of learning. I view college as the process in which a student prepares oneself mentally so that he or she may be ready to take on the real world. Elementary, middle, and high schools may do the same; however, I see these schools as institutions that primarily focus on the memorization of facts. College to me is a mental workout that forces a student to think critically and consequently form the mind to view the world in a much more different way.

Coming from the school of humanities, this may just be me. The sciences may take a different approach since the memorization of facts and formulas are essential to understanding major concepts. I mean you need to memorize a lot in order to be a doctor, a chemist, or any other science related occupation.

__
Anyway, today I had a little get together with a couple high school friends, one being my neighbor. We went to California Pizza Kitchen and we had some delicious pizza! yum yum. Afterwards, we walked around the mall for a while, and then we went to Natalie's place to have some hot chocolate and other beverages, while the other beverages were not in the initial plan. haha. Fun times.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.