... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

The Nightingale, Balham

... and now for something completely different.

My plans for today changed rather considerably. I was going to have a quiet morning and then go to the pond with my 70-200mm lens to see what I could do with that, but then a friend invited me over for lunch, so I ended up spending most of the day out seeing friends rather than seeing family birds.

I met up with another friend at The Nightingale on Balham High Road on my way home, and snapped this while I waited. I love the 24mm perspective (I'd so missed it!). This shot feels a little random, but I like the shadows on the ceiling, and wanted to try something a bit different (starting as I mean to go on...). It is a very nice café: the coffee isn't fantastic but is perfectly pleasant and tastes pleasingly continental which is evocative, and they do fantastic cakes (inc. pecan pie and cheesecake: their blackcurrant cheesecake with an unusual crumbly edging is my favourite cheesecake...), and tasty breakfasts and simple deli-type meals.

I did stop at Eagle Pond on my way from lunch back to Balham, and Mr. Goosle is still just sulking on the island. I don't know what is going on: he has been doing that for about two weeks, and I haven't seen Mrs. for the same length of time (*hmph*). I was very pleased to see red-crested pochards on Mount Pond! I've never seen them before, and took some photos with the 24-70 still mounted (some of which I was v. pleased with), but am not posting one of them for variety's sake.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.