Green light

You must have been in that irritating situation where you're approaching some traffic lights in your car and some youth presses the button on the pelican crossing, turning the lights red just for his amusement, rather than crossing the road.

Today I went back to check on the collared doves that had decided to nest atop these traffic lights. But I'd already blipped the red man so wanted to do the green one this time just for variety's sake. Cue lines of stationary traffic while I blipped this. I'm sure they were all quite understanding.

I googled "collared dove nesting" and found quite a few examples of the birds nesting on traffic lights and other urban nooks and crannies such as satellite dishes. It seems to be a collared dove thing. The ramshackle nests are typical too. Not so unusual then.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.