Pub lunch. Sticky Toffee Pudding. Saturday.

Well, after our friends left last night I must have slept like a log.
The reason I know this will be apparent as I continue in my narrative
We ended up with a spare full bottle of my favourite wine
“Côtes du Rhône Villages”.
At the moment I cannot partake of a glass due to the meds I currently have to take. Our guests, on arrival, decided to go with the bottle of Elderflower Pressé, leaving Stephen with the choice.
As he decided to decline the wine it was left standing in the kitchen.
But I knew my lovely next door neighbours, now in their nineties, would enjoy, it,
They have travelled extensively in France and Italy and both of them speak French. Arthur is fluent, and he was the one years ago who encouraged me to keep going with my French as I felt like I was getting nowhere.
A little while back he came to tell me he had just finished reading
“À la recherche du temps perdu”: by Marcel Proust, in French.
To those who are aware this is an outstanding feat in itself and I took him a toy medal with a tricolour ribbon to congratulate him!
Anyway I digress!
I went round after we came back from our Saturday pub lunch and took them the bottle. Rose was so pleased as she loves Côtes du Rhône.
Then she asked me if I’d heard all the noise in the road this morning at 3:00am!
For once I had not heard a thing!
“ Well”, she said “the road was full of cars and hundreds of people, and children as well”,
I did think for a minute that she was either exaggerating or had dreamt it!
But no, her son (a retired policeman) told her it was the school opposite us and Years 5 and 6 pupils were going on a skiing trip.
Rose also had gone back to bed and was again woken by a huge coach turning up, then the children and staff embarking,
I am absolutely amazed I never heard any of it!
I told her I would look it up on the school’s website.
Sure enough they were going to Birmingham airport for a very early flight to Italy,
One of the staff had posted photos of them in the departure lounge.
I will show them to her at some point,
They must have lived in their house for over 50 years, as we have lived in our for 42 years this year.
Time for a cuppa methinks.
I’ve been enjoying catching up with your blips,

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.