DDW

By DDW

Fur Seals

This morning we made a "wet landing" with the Zodiacs on Half Moon Island, one of the South Shetland Islands, where we waded ashore on to a black sand beach, and were greeted by several Fur Seals as well as lots and lots of adorable chinstrap penguins.

This afternoon, we are at Whalers Bay on Deception Island -- an old whaling  station which is now littered with the remains of old buildings and boats.  More seals lounge on these shingle beaches, looking mildly amused by all we "red penguins" (we must all look alike in our bright red expedition anoraks!). 

Mr. W was actually chased by a fur seal as it was returning to the beach from a swim -- Richard was rinsing off his boots by wading in the shallow water on the shore at the time, and I guess the seal was surprised to find him right where he or she intended to make landfall!

Tonight we set sail back across the Drake Passage -- two sea days before we return to the coast of Chile.  I'm hoping my sea legs are better established now and that I won't suffer the seasickness I experienced on my way out here last week!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.