Carrot Cake

So, what do you do when F.M.i.L. is wandering around at 05:45, again at 06:05 and 06:30? You get up and make a carrot cake, obviously not going to get any more sleep!
It does mean that I got a few things done ready for tomorrows birthday dinner for Marlane. Her birthday isn't until Tuesday but Sunday is the day when we can all get together to celebrate Birthdays.
The Blip is of the cake. Top photo, it's just gone into the oven, bottom, ready to come out. Middle is after I've beaten the butter until it was white, added the icing sugar and vanilla essence and soft cream cheese. Spread some in-between the 7" cake rounds and piped the rest of the cream all over the top.
I then lifted the top one, very carefully, and slid out the baking parchment after realising I only had one to throw away!
I also managed to put some small, clear, sticky hooks around the extension, without disturbing the Blackbird, so that I could hang the bunting all the way around. Stripped the dining table but not yet laid as I need to move the kitchen table in as we are 12 for dinner.
Peeled about 3cwt of spuds (not really that much! and younger people are now googling what cwt means), separated cauliflower florets, cooked and smothered in cheesy onion white sauce to be heated tomorrow.
And took F.M.i.L. to Mass this evening so at least she's been up for a while and will, hopefully, sleep through the night. 
Apart from waking me up early she also had Marlane up a couple of times during the night, and people wonder why we are tired all the time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.