Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Gap-toothed

We had a silly sort of day today, in that the morning was beautiful in bright sunshine and we did mainly indoorsy things, and by the time we went out the cloud was already drifting south over us so that by the end of the afternoon it was uniformly grey but for a line of gold away down the Firth. However, it did mean that I wrote a card and posted it to a friend whose address I was waiting for, and I went to the pharmacy for some stuff as well as Himself's prescription, thereby adding Good Deed to the trip. In fact the blip above comes from the morning, as I headed up out of the car park which didn't exist when I first moved here. If you look in the almost-centre of the photo you can see the gap site where three shops were destroyed in an arson attack 18 months ago and through it the other kind of destruction in the town, with three shops in a row boarded up and unoccupied. Shortly they will be joined by the former cinema which for years now has been Mackay's, currently selling all its stock before closure. It's very sad, and doesn't bode well for us or for the future of the town if some imaginative planning and funding doesn't happen.

I spent some time this morning looking at past blips; I never find blipfoto easy when it comes to navigating my past, but via my stats page I found myself going through the early summer of 2014 and marvelling at how much has changed in that time. In fact, I'm so riveted by it that I've opened a second window to accommodate the current activity - talk about navel-gazing!

In the afternoon, fired with the success of yesterday's walk high in the forests, we headed for a walk we've not done in years and pulled steadily up through the trees to the viewpoint over the Tarsan Dam (in the extra photo). I'm suffering now, but it was good to get the heart rate up a bit and do the kind of walk we used to do. I hate this sensation of relentless decline, inevitable or not. 

One result of all this is that I'm off to bed a whole hour earlier than usual ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.