Heardit

My dad is 88, 89 in September.
He is amazingly spry and sprightly he got up at 6.30 this morning, made breakfast for us all and then started talking.
He forgets to stop. And his soliloquy lasts all day. On loop.
If I hear one more time that one of his friends from long ago said of honey ( cue American accent) ‘ why that’s bee sh*t!’ I will scream and shout ‘Heardit!!’
We invented this technique a couple of years ago when we noticed my Dad repeating himself. With a raised hand we try and stop him in his tracks. Doesn’t always work but thankfully no offence taken.
I was working non stop today as he muttered away in the kitchen, so nipped out late morning to drop him off at the train to Tweedbank to catch up with my mother and sister..and give my ears a rest.
Maths all afternoon then a grazing feast for dinner.
Dad went to brothers this evening so enjoying the peace til tomorrow

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.